Questions to ask the consultant re PAO

Here’s a few suggestions for when you get to see your consultant – some are really obvious but I needed to have them all written down just to make sure I got the answers I needed;

How mild/severe is my dysplasia? (measurements on x-rays)

Is there any arthritis?

Any damage to cartilage?

Probs with knees – is it likely to be referred from having dodgy hips?

Any other linked probs?  (I have dodgy shoulders too!)

If I don’t have surgery what is likely to happen?

What’s the potential life span of successful surgery?

Am I still likely to need THR in years to come? 

What can I do to increase the chance of 100% success?

One hip done or both? – and what’s the time between the two surgeries

Possibility of returning to sport – kickboxing, swimming, circuits, running, surfing, mountain biking, snowboarding…? What are the restrictions likely to be long term?

How much time to recover?

How long until I can go back to work?

What can I do to help myself short term?

How will it affect me should I want to have children?

Will I set off Airport scanners?!!!

How long do I have to decide whether to go ahead with surgery or not?

Should I go ahead how long (roughly) will I have to wait for surgery?

What will be the difficulties in having surgery away from my home town?

Am I likely to need any special aids at home?

How long until I can shower? 

Are there any exercises I can do while not being able to bear weight?  i.e. use dumbbells do crunches etc.. or will my range of movement be too restricted?

Can you advise on any alternative pain killers?

Will I need a wheelchair?  

Will my own blood be recycled during surgery? 

Will I notice any change in body shape/height?

Screws – to be taken out or left in?

How long after surgery until I can drive?

How long will the surgery take?

How long will I be in hospital for?

Will I have an epidural?

 

Once you find out one piece of info more questions pop up, it’s never ending! Also there’s some things that will depend on you as an individual so the consultant will only be able to give you an approximate answer.  Have a look at other blogs or the hipwomen yahoo group for more ideas of what to ask. 

Incidentally I’ve not done too much physical this weekend but apparently sitting on the sofa and typing now causes my right hip to hurt.  Maybe it was watching Strictly Come Dancing that made it wince at the thought of Salsa-ing again…. one day I’ll be a diva on the dance floor with new shiny bionic hips and there’ll be no stopping me! Well I can live in hope.

 

 

 

2 Responses to Questions to ask the consultant re PAO

  1. concerned MOM says:

    when did you have this done? How old are you? I hope you are felling better!!!

    • hobblinghelly says:

      Hi there,
      I haven’t had the surgery done yet, but am hoping to be semi bionic – at least that’s how I like to imagine it!, by Easter this year.
      Is it yourself that has dysplasia? or your daughter/son?
      Hx

Leave a Reply

